Skip to content

What About Yesterday? What About Tomorrow?

December 31, 2015
tags:

Today I saw a paradise fly catcher–body black, long white tail trailing–sitting in the branches of the desert rose, the one at the corner of the house. He sat next to a tiny malachite kingfisher, they took turns diving in the pool.
Today I watched the sun rise pink through the trees over the horizon. She lit up the whole sky in streaks of lilac and gold, and the river shone.
Today I ran the riverbank and placed my feet next to a thousand other footprints: the mirrored horseshoes of a herd of goats, the reptilian four-footed claw and tail-slide of a monitor lizard, tiny barefoot toes splayed in the dirt, tire-tread sandals crisscrossing the path.
Today I scared a fish eagle from her fig tree perch. She soared but fifteen feet in front of me, startling me, too, and I stopped to watch her flight.
Today I sat under a sacred tree with small brown bodies crowded around, my own small child heavy and asleep in my lap, sand and dirt coating my feet and settling under my finger nails. I wondered, as I always do when he falls asleep on me, so rare as he grows up and away from me, if this will be the last time I’ll hold him like this.
Today I watched a vee of egrets, snow-white in a twilight sky, sailing low over the water. I imagined waterskiing behind them, leaving a wake in the surface of glass. And then a group of sacred ibises, five or six of them, rose up from the edge of the river, honking on take-off, and nearly crashed into the egrets, and flew on in the updraft.
Today I held my youngest girl close, she bent her body half to curl up in my lap, I laid my cheek against her warm yellow hair and we sat for a long time, rocking in the boat.
Today I looked up toward crocodile mountain and saw rain come down on the hills. White silver clouds built up above the storm, one like a cheetah, chasing the rain.
Today I sat with my best friend on the top of the riverbank and watched a storm roll across the horizon. He said why didn’t we do this everyday, I said I have no regrets.
Today I watched the sun set in a sky like a bruise.
Today I laid in bed and listened to the starlings argue in the neem tree outside my window, awake in the glow of the moon shining full.
This just today.
What about yesterday?
What about tomorrow?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane Tight permalink
    December 31, 2015 6:13 pm

    I head out before dawn more inspired to see today.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Mary Odell permalink
    January 3, 2016 6:47 am

    I have a vivid imagination and am so visual which I count as a blessing especially when
    I read your poems. Thank you for sharing. Glad you all a wonderful day. We are
    in such a different season of life and still trying to navigate it. Love to you & family.
    Mary

  3. Elsa permalink
    January 10, 2016 9:45 pm

    Thank you for describing Omo so Nice. I Tried to visit you in Arusha but you had left for Omo Rate. God bless you in your work.
    Greetings from Elsa. (I stayed in Omo Rate when Dick and Donna starter work there)

Leave a Reply

